Make Money Working from Home – Freelance Copywriting

Working from home has never been easier than in 2021!

This site contains affiliate links to products. I may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.

Copywriting is a really well paid work from home job. Find out more about a great online copywriting course - my personal insider experience of Filthy Rich Writer #copywriter #copwritingcourse

If I can do it, so can you!

My main role is a demanding one, so I made the decision to diversify my income.

The end goal – to work from home.

 I did a lot of research and finally enrolled in Filthy Rich Writer.

This post is designed to help you avoid the masses of information overload.

It will give my opinion of the Comprehensive Copywriting Academy, the online copywriting course they offer. 

In a rush or hurry?

Main points:

Copywriting is far better paid than content writing.

⭐The Comprehensive Copywriting Academy (Filthy Rich Writer’s Course) is the best online copywriting course. (in my humble opinion)

⭐The course will pay itself back many times!

Dip your toe in! Watch this free training and see for yourself!

What does it take to be a successful copywriter?

From Teaching to Copywriting – my 2020-21 experience

Headlines (updated October 2021)

  • I have revamped my website – check. it. out helennuttall.com So proud of how it looks!
  • I have also created a welcome email sequence for a successful entrepreneur in the US. She loved it – and said I really ‘got’ her, which was awesome!
  • Also created a service homepage for a Florida cable contractor that had to sound really masculine – so much fun!
Key points (updated July 2021)
  • I now have 2 regular clients on ongoing projects that I love. One in the pet space and one in the niche site space.
  • This meant I could take my teaching job down to 4 days a week yay!
  • I have made a consistent income equalling my day job (working one day a week) This prompted me to chat to my husband about taking my day job down to 3 days a week from September. Aghhhh! This is REALLY happening! My employer has been so supportive also, which is AMAZING!
Key points (updated Jan 2021)
  • I have made a consistent income higher than my day job wage in Q4 2020 (working 7-10 hours a week!). 
  • My first job for my first lovely client paid the price of the course off. 
  • I love copywriting! It’s so much fun! 

For more detail on my adventure into copywriting see below. I can’t quite believe the opportunities I am getting now as a result!

Key points (updated May 2021)
  • I have made a consistent income higher than my day job wage in Q1 2021
  • Q2 is even better and now I can work 18 hours a week on copywriting.
  • I worked on my first big project in May and made over $1000 in just over a week.

My initial thoughts – 2019

 Back at the start of 2020, I was at a crossroads believe me. For 2 years, I have had my own blog and that’s great. At the time, it wouldn’t replace my main income. Update April 2021 – it is making money! Yay! 

What role could I do to seriously make money from home? 

I wanted the chance to:

  1. potentially earn more for working less bone-crunching hours. 
  2. work flexibly, so I can spend more time with my husband.  
  3. get regular work.
  4. be creative.
  5. meet interesting people.

Researching Possible Roles

 I have always loved writing and felt that the experience of writing for my blog had given me so much experience.  I initially searched for ‘freelance writer’ on Google. 

It came up with three interesting possibilities. 

One was Elna Cain’s Freelance writer course ‘Write to 1k’, the Comprehensive Copywriting Academy and another was Mike Shreeve’s ‘No Pants Project’.

I signed up to find out more for each. It was definitely a learning curve.  I realized I didn’t even know the difference between copywriting and content writing! 

Why take a copywriting course?

I needed to be sure what each option was before I could assess the whys. It turned out that I could make a decent amount of income with either. Copywriting though, seemed to be way more lucrative from the research I carried out. Here’s what I looked at.

Potential copywriting courses or content Courses – What to choose…

No Pants Project – Copywriting Course 

Mike Shreeve’s introductory videos were very useful to explain this. He was very motivational and his back story is truly inspiring.

However, when it came to finding out about his course, it just wasn’t right for me.

For the equivalent of approx $1500, he was going to give me one-on-one coaching. I just couldn’t afford it – there were no other payment options either. Wait too long and it would mean paying much more. 

I felt the details of what I would get were really sketchy and vague. I couldn’t make out whether he would really teach me the basics of copywriting, so I felt I had confidence to go get clients.

He offered other online courses later, but they were all really focused on one skill, for example email writing. Cost on average was $600.

Asian girl working at a coffee shop sitting with mobile phone and laptop. Researching about freelance writing opportunities including Filthy Rich Writer

Elna Cain – Write to 1k – Content Writing

I have been following Elna Cain for a while now. She is a truly inspirational blogger and has achieved what I want to with my blog. 

So the natural thing to do also was to research content writing and working from home writing jobs. After all, I do this every week. Why not get paid to do it from home, as my main income, while growing my own blog income? 

Elna’s always generous with her free content and her emails about freelance writing are really informative. 

The price point for her course was reasonable given her experience. If I’d have needed payment plan options, you could pay in 3 instalments. 

Also very fair.

Many people have been able to replace their income with this course. 

There was absolutely nothing wrong at all with this – only that  I had also signed up for the free training with Filthy Rich Writer, so I held off. To be honest I procrastinated – because the training on FRW made me realise that I wanted to be a copywriter. 

Ideally I wanted to earn more, and do something slightly different to what I do with my blog. 

Comprehensive Copywriting Academy – Filthy Rich Writer

Initially I found this online, but I came back to it again as a result of another former teacher’s success. He recommended it to me, as he had just landed his first project, which more than covered his old monthly income.

I’d subscribed already, but in between emails sent from Nicki Krawczyk, main coach and owner, I dug into the site. The videos particularly I found really useful to inform me I was making a good choice.  

This story, about a normal mum, who has had massive success since completing the CCA really got me.  Watch her story

Nicki made it clear from the outset that she was willing to educate a person fully. This means she could provide the basic copywriting training I needed to succeed. 

I must admit I watched most of the trainings when having a sneaky coffee, when I went out for a run. I know, so not healthy, but hey!

She shared exactly what the course content included, which far outstripped everything I had expected. She could train me in how to pitch to clients, build my business and give me access to a nurturing support group. 

Then it was just a question of price.

You probably already know that we have been really using all our spare cash to overpay our mortgage. So I didn’t have a lot spare. 

Her main price point for this course is more than Elna’s, but I figured, was so comprehensive it was worth the money. 

What was fab was that she was willing to do a payment plan, which really broke it down for me . It has made it possible for me to start my new copywriting venture!

Access the free training here

My experiences of the Filthy Rich Writer copywriting course so far (April 2020)

I am now in my third week of the copywriting school or course. It has come at the right time, considering now I have time on my hands to get started. 

I’ve learned that it’s best to pace yourself and not to try to learn too much at once! I can’t tell you how excited I am at the fact that I have completed my first product description for a real client! In the space of 3 weeks I have started to build my portfolio and found a great designer to work with! 

Throughout this time, I have been able to go to the CCA’s Facebook group for constructive feedback on my assigned tasks. Nicki and her supporting coach Kate have been super constructive, but also very honest on how I can improve. 

So far, I have learned how to write the copy for web pages, emails and banner ads. Nicki encourages you then to practise regularly, so the skills you need develop. 

In the next couple of months, I will be updating this section of the post, so you can see exactly what I have achieved by making the leap and becoming a freelance copywriter. 

I am soo excited to be be learning from true experts how to break into copywriting!

Young african american woman sitting on the bed with laptop focused on working through the Comprehensive Copywriting academy course and becoming a successful copywriter
Update – as promised! 26th May 2020

I’m still so excited. Okay so now I am happy with my portfolio site, and I have created a LinkedIn profile too.

Every day I am sending out pitch emails to companies that I really want to work with. Kate and Nicki have been brilliant – their deep dive courses have really helped me understand this part of the process.

 Already I have had 7 responses and have scheduled 3 discovery calls! Eek!

(This is me, who before, probably wouldn’t have even contemplated putting myself forward in this way – it feels liberating and has done wonders for my confidence! I’m not saying this is an easy part on the road to setting up my freelance copywriter business, but it shows me just what I am capable of. People are keen to hear my ideas, see it from my angle –  and most of all they want to pay me money to create copy for them!) 

Here’s the link to my copywriting portfolio, now I have completed more of it! Yay – so excited! (A copywriting portfolio is soo important because it’s like a visual resume for copywriters) 

helennuttall.com

Progress update! News from 22nd July 2020

I have landed my first client! Yay! I have the task of writing a welcome email sequence for them. It’s super exciting because I chose the client and the topic I would be writing about – something I am passionate about. When I have completed the project, I will post it on my copywriting portfolio, so you can see it. Eeeek! 

I am beyond proud of me.

 This is the reality of working full time at home for my current main job, and then balancing blogging, pitching clients and building my copywriting experience. 

Don’t beat yourself up if if takes a bit longer than some people claim to get your first client. Just keep taking action – every single day. 

Every time you put yourself out there, you are inviting work to find you. 

Facebook group – I can’t emphasise enough how much the support of this group has helped push me beyond all limits of what I thought was possible. I do wonder whether other online copywriting courses have the ongoing long-term support network that this does. I’m learning alongside other colleagues, and I really didn’t expect the support to continue, but it really is ongoing! 

Update 19th September 2020 

Whirl-wind city. Okay so it’s just snowballed. As part of my pitches each day, I decided to also give Upwork a go.

Nicki does advise that Upwork can be really low paying, so I needed to be choosy about my applications. In the first week of applying, I had landed a job as an SEO copywriter. 

It’s ongoing also!! Big win! The great thing also, is that I can work this around my main job, and transition safely, so we have enough cash as I do. 

That’s not all! It took a while to come through, but persistence paid off. I pitched a website in July, offering to rewrite their product descriptions. This week this came through and I had a lovely time writing them. 

Back to Upwork –  I can’t wait to share this homepage I crafted with you guys. It was for a children’s toy and the client was really happy with my finished copy! He wants to work with me on future projects! 

Now I have some hours registered on Upwork, I have increased my hourly rate to reflect the value I can provide. 

Project – email sequence

This first client has only just scheduled this with me, since she has had a tough few weeks since we agreed on the project. I’m going to work on this, after writing this update for you! 

She also mentioned that she needs Christmas-focused emails developing! I’m overwhelmed by everything that is happening. It’s amazing to be able to work on fascinating projects. I actually forget I’m working. 

I’ve just realized also… I am a professional freelance copywriter! I made it! 

You can too! 

Girl at laptop writing thoughts about her copy into a notebook. Do you want to to be a copywriter? Check out my review of the Comprehensive Copywriting Academy.
Update 27th October 2020

Fast forward one month, and I am so proud to report that the transition plan to safely get out of teaching is game-on! With this month’s copywriting income, I have been able to put some cash away to enable me to go part time. I think this part of the transition will be the most challenging, especially as I have made a deal with my husband that I will save for a year’s worth of however many teaching days I want to transition out of. 

So key headlines – transition from teaching is hard BUT I have already nearly made my take-home teacher wage, just working 7-10 hours a week on copywriting.

So a FULL teacher wage for the MONTH – in between 7-10 hours per week. 

  • Writing 10 product descriptions 
  • 5 hours SEO copywriting  

Next month’s aim is to smash my teacher wage and earn a bit more on top by raising my copywriting prices slightly to reflect I am not such a newbie anymore!

Update Jan 2021

Wow – time has flown. Some big news for you now. 

With the money I earned from copywriting we have managed to afford to move to our dream house – and.. I have saved enough money to cut my main job down to 4 days a week! 

So this shows how much I made! I have consistently made my teacher wage or much more since I last updated you! So now is the time I feel happy to downgrade my day job – it will involve a notice period but then I am freer to start scaling my income. 

Action Steps for January (eek!) 

  • Arrange (fingers crossed) my day job downgrade for April
  • Get some 1 to 1 coaching with Kate Sitarz or Nicki the coaches of this course. 
  • Hit $8k a month by December 2021. 

Update on how the Comprehensive Copywriting Academy has helped me – May 2021

As you know, I’m working 4 days a week at my main job (teacher) and that has allowed me space to really scale up my copywriting work. My biggest achievement this month is landing a client who is my hero in the pet space! I’m so privileged to be working with them. They were so clear with feedback and said that I’d nailed the brand voice straight away.

This is the kind of feeling that I can’t describe fully to you, but you let me try.

Okay picture this.

You get to work at home in a lovely peaceful home office. Your dog is sleeping at your feet. You are working on a topic you love writing about. Amazing!

You also loved every minute of the project. Fab! Then your client comes back and loves the copy. Seriously – this is such a humbling experience – I cried when I read the email.

A girl with a dog sitting on a sofa indoors, working on a laptop, on her copywriting career.

July 2021 – I reflect on what this amazing online copywriting course has given me

I feel so thankful – while I’m still a teacher as my main day job, I still split up my year in academic terms! Bear with me, but it does give me the opportunity to reflect on my progress. I have had the most awesome start to my freelancing business. Not only am I meeting my progress goals, but I’m also meeting my income goals too.

Did I ever dream that I could make it, working from home as a freelancer? I did and I’m so proud of what I’ve achieved so far.

Next Steps for Me in my freelance career

  • Land one more client whether it’s for copywriting, SEO services or web development.
  • Take some time for self care and adjustment – I think as a teacher, I have become too accustomed to over-working. Now it’s time for me.
  • Help other copywriters and freelancers getting started, so they can be successful too.

If you are a freelancer, (but not a copywriter) looking for direction in how to scale your business, win more clients and balance your life, check out Fired Up Freelance.

Comprehensive Copywriting Academy Reviews – FAQs

Underneath here, you will see examples of other questions I was asking myself, so you can get a feel for what’s involved with copywriting; whether you would prefer freelance copywriting or an in-house copywriter’s job; and more information on the course and whether it is a fit for you. 

If you have any questions, as always email me over at [email protected]

What is copywriting?

Copywriting is basically writing to persuade, whereas content writing is writing to inform or entertain. It is such a wide field. 
You could be asked to create an ad campaign for a sportswear brand one day. 
The very next day might be 20 product descriptions for a small local business. 
It is soo varied and exciting.

Can copywriters work from home?

 Yes, yes and yes!
 The world is so well connected now, copywriters can definitely work at home.
 All you need is a good internet connection and a laptop or computer to work on.

Can anyone make money as a copywriter?

Yes – you just need to be consistent and persistent.
Nicki Krawczyk is the copywriting coach over at Filthy Rich Writer.
 She explains exactly how to work from home as a copywriter and make great money. From beginners with no experience (like me!), to people who feel they need direction to focus their copywriting experience. Make no mistake, this isn’t a quick fix to success. You need to put in the time and effort to get to where you want to be. 
Take a look at the free training – see if it’s for you.

Is there a demand for copywriters?

Picture this:
So many entrepreneurs out there, with little or no spare time on their hands. 

They want help:
 ✅to grow their reach
 ✅to grow their brands
✅to ultimately make more money.

If you help them solve their problem, they will pay generously for it!

But isn’t there too much competition out there?

 This was a real concern for me, when I was looking for my new freelance career.

I didn’t want to get stuck in a race to the bottom – fighting for work, charging the least.  
With this course, you don’t have to resort to using sites such as Fiverr or Upwork to get a steady stream of clients. 
 If you haven’t already, view the free training:
 HOW TO LAND FREELANCE COPYWRITING WORK…Without Wasting Time on Frustrating Job Bidding Sites or Cold-Calling Strangers. 

Nicki explains how she has been so successful herself via these simple-to-action techniques.
Watch the Training now

Is copywriting easy?

I’ve found there’s a lot to take in about copywriting. 

What sets this course apart from others that I researched at the time, was the amount of ACTUAL training to become a copywriter there is. 
A complete beginner could pick up this course and be successful.
Nicki’s original inspiration came from this scenario.

 She had hired two junior copywriters and needed to get them up to speed quickly. To do this, she developed lessons on how to smash the basics.
The course is so easy to follow. But at the same time, Nicki never claims that copywriting is easy to break into. 

What she does say is that it is important to take time learning copywriting skills and gaining experience.

She believes in setting you on the correct path along with a reality check -that you need to put the work in to achieve.

The deciders for me to take this course were: 

  1. This online copywriting course will teach me how to write copy. 
  2. It will help me face my confidence issues.
  3. It will give me access to a highly supportive network of other copyrighters. 
  4. It will give me the steps I need to get clients. 
  5. It will help me build my portfolio and business. 
  6. It does not cost an actual arm and a leg!

Nicki is such a genuine, down-to-earth, humble lady. It really comes across in the tone of this article.

Read the article

What does the Comprehensive Copywriting Academy course cover?

It’s such a pain when you can’t find any specific information about what a course covers. This certainly wasn’t true with this course. Nicki was very specific, but here is a summary anyway, so you have it in one place. 
Nicki covers: 
 How to write the different types of online copy
Ads
Webpages 
Emails 
Email funnels 
Product descriptions 
Facebook ads
How to write the different types of printed copy
Brochures
Flyers 
Leaflets
 Not only that, she actually trains you on how to: 
Build your copywriting portfolio
Find clients
Build your business
Read the full interview with Nicki here
Having used this course now for the last 12 months, I firmly believe this is one of the best copywriting courses out there.

An Insider’s View of the Foundation Modules

-Module 1: Copywriting Fundamentals

-Module 2: Copywriting Tactics

-Module 3: Project Lifecycle

-Module 4: Interactive/Digital Copywriting

-Module 5: Print Copywriting

-Module 6: Building your Business

All the modules have action sheets. 

They are designed to give you real copywriting practice and build your portfolio.

Bonus Deep Dive Courses

One question that also occured to me was. What bonuses do I get? Does the course actually offer more of a deep-dive approach into certain topics? A bit like an opportunity to truly master skills, once I had learned the basics? 

The answer is yes it does. The amount of bonus courses within the CCA is actually overwhelming. 

The deep dive areas are about building confidence, finding clients, and writing copy for specific purposes. 

Here are some that I can see right now: 

  • Bust Your Fears and Blocks to Pursue Your Dream Life
  • How to Price Your Services
  • Find Small Business Clients 
  • How to Create Spec Ads
  • Build Your Online Portfolio
  • How to Use Facebook to Build Your Business 
  • Client Pitching 
  • Create Your Print Portfolio
  • Write Product Descriptions, Webinars, Sales Pages, Videos. 

There’s even a whole course dedicated to how to land Ad-Agency and In-House Agency work, if you prefer not to be freelance. 

The fact that I feel totally overwhelmed looking at the sheer amount of content I have to help me achieve my goals, tells you that this course is great value for money.

Will the course fit around my schedule?

I find that you can do as little or as much as you want to do. I tend to find that if I do too much, I can’t retain as much.

If you are struggling for time, picture it like this. The least amount of time you need is the time it takes you to have a cup of coffee every day. That’s all the time you need to set aside. So fitting learning in can be easy.

I feel scared making the leap!

Yeh I hear you – I was exactly the same. 

I just didn’t realise how much I was stopping myself from succeeding.

Sound familiar?

Nicki has answers for that.. and long term coping strategies too.

She also gives you tips on how to build your own confidence. This was and continues to be so valuable for me.

Does the Filthy Rich Writer copywriting course come with coaching?

When you sign up for the Comprehensive Copywriting Academy, you have access to coaching webinars every single month, where you can ask Nicki any questions you have. 
No question is too basic.
This is working brilliantly for me.
Questions come to me as I start to work through examples and learn more. 

On top of group coaching sessions every month, you have access to an exclusive Facebook group.
This group is chock full of people who are so supportive and will answer your questions. Nicki is on every day to help and she has provided me with so much constructive feedback. 
The course is so nurturing and supportive – nothing is too much trouble for anybody. 

19.09.20 Update – coaching is also available at extra cost. 
You get one-to-one time with expert copywriters, so it’s worth considering, as they will help you accelerate your progress to your goals.

What about the cost of the course?

It’d true to say that this course is by no means the cheapest of the copywriting courses out there. At the price point it is (in the three figures $$$) you could argue it’s expensive. 

But you really do get what you pay for.

Cheap means not comprehensive or in-depth enough. 

And yes, you will be trawling the internet again – trying to find answers.

Nicki has a solution for the cost of the course. 

  • Even though she always says that she is confident her course will pay you back many, many times in income!
  • One of the first training videos is her ideas of how you can earn money quickly, to pay back the cost of the course. 
  • She even gives three easy options

So it really is a no-brainer!

Is there a money guarantee?

Yes. Every course that is worth the money has.  
For me it was an investment worth taking, as it was backed with a 30-day guarantee.
Find out more

Is Filthy Rich Writer legit?

Yes. The Comprehensive Copywriting Academy is 100% legit. Nicki has more than 15 years experience in the world of copywriting. 

The other measure to check is if the coach puts their actual name to the programme and she has.

You can look her up freely on the internet and check her credentials or check out her copy site at nickicopy.com

Why copywriting and not content writing?

There there are other courses out there – I have looked at them in detail above. 
But they didn’t seem to cover as much as this one. 

Top tip
It is completely up to you and you ideally should do what interests you the most.
Try not be influenced by what anybody thinks you should do. 
This your future career, and you should be happy in your new role.

Are copywriting courses worth it?

The answer is yes. The comprehensive copywriting academy is worth every dollar I spent on it because it brings all the basic skills you need to launch your business as a copywriter. It also contains more advanced training, when you are ready. There’s also training on how to get clients fast.

Benefits of Copywriting in Summary

  • It pays way more than content writing – hands down!
  • It lets you potentially work fewer hours for more money.
  • Copywriting lets you fit work around the kids.
  •  You can work from home.
  • Beginners can become copywriters with the correct support and guidance. 
  • Copywriting is extremely varied and interesting – the amount and focus of projects is limitless. 
  • Every word counts – you learn the art of persuading somebody to do something.
  • Make the leap today – I dare you!